2006 Concrete Bridge Award winners announced

News Portland Cement Association August 25, 2006
Printer-friendly version

Ten winners have been named in the Portland Cement Association's (PCA) Tenth Biennial Bridge Awards competition. The competition, instituted in 1988, recognizes excellence in design and construction of concrete bridges. Roads and Bridges magazine was a co-sponsor of this year's competition.

This year's winning projects were:

• The Guadalupe County I-40 Overpass Bridges, Guadalupe County, N.M.;

• Elk Avenue/Doe River Bridge Rehabilitation, Elizabethtown, Tenn.;

• Moose Creek Bridge, Timmins, Ont.;

• Perry Street Bridge, Napoleon, Ohio;

• Brady Street Bridge, Milwaukee, Wis.;

• University Avenue Arched Pier Bridge over I-74, Peoria, Ill.;

• Four Bears Bridge, New Town, N.D.;

• Noyo River Bridge, Fort Bragg, Calif.;

• County Road 453 over Battleground Creek Bridge, Coupland, Texas; and

• Wapello County Mars Hill Bridge, Wapello County, Iowa.

The 2006 program attracted 79 entries from Canada and the U.S., covering a variety of structure types and construction methods. All structures were completed between June 2004 and March 2006.

The winners will be recognized at the American Concrete Institute's Fall Convention in Denver.

Winning projects were selected based on creativity, functionality and economy by a jury of three prominent bridge professionals: Daniel Dorgan, State Bridge Engineer, Minnesota Department of Transportation; Mary Lou Ralls, Ralls Newman, LLC, Austin, Texas; and Louis Triandafilou, High Performance Structural Materials Specialist, FHWA Resource Center, Baltimore.

The next installment of the bridge awards is scheduled for 2008.

Overlay Init
2006 Concrete Bridge Award winners announced | Roads & Bridges


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.