Transition team for U.S. DOT unveiled by incoming Biden-Harris administration

The transition team includes representation across the transportation sector

November 16, 2020 / 1 minute read
President-elect Joe Biden
Image: Biden-Harris Transition

The transition team for the U.S. Department of Transportation (U.S. DOT) has been announced for the incoming administration under President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris.

The 19-member transition team for the U.S. DOT will also review the National Transportation Safety Board, the National Railroad Passenger Corporation / AMTRAK, and the Federal Maritime Commission.

The website for the Biden-Harris transition team stated the following about the incoming administration's various agency review teams:

"Agency review teams are responsible for understanding the operations of each agency, ensuring a smooth transfer of power, and preparing for President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris and their cabinet to hit the ground running on Day One. These teams are composed of highly experienced and talented professionals with deep backgrounds in crucial policy areas across the federal government. The teams have been crafted to ensure they not only reflect the values and priorities of the incoming administration, but reflect the diversity of perspectives crucial for addressing America’s most urgent and complex challenges."

The transition team for the U.S. DOT has significant representation across the transportation sector, including labor representatives. Some members include heads of state or city DOTs, including Jeff Marootian of the District DOT in Washington D.C., Toks Omishakin of the California DOT (Caltrans), and Polly Trottenberg of the New York City DOT. Phillip Washington, CEO of the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, will lead the Biden-Harris administration’s U.S. DOT review team. 

The rest of the Transportation transition team includes the following members:

  • Dave Barnett, United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters of the U.S. and Canada
  • Austin Brown, University of California, Davis
  • David Cameron, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
  • Florence Chen, Generate
  • Brendan Danaher, Transport Workers Union of America, AFL-CIO
  • Paul Kincaid, The Association of Former Members of Congress
  • Gabe Klein, Cityfi
  • Therese McMillan, Metropolitan Transportation Commission
  • Brad Mims, Conference of Minority Transportation Officials
  • Robert Molofsky, Self-employed
  • Patty Monahan, California Energy Commission
  • Mario Rodriguez, Indianapolis Airport Authority
  • Mike Rodriguez, Texas A&M University System (Retired)
  • Nairi Tashjian Hourdajian, Figma
  • Vinn White, State of New Jersey


SOURCE: Biden-Harris Transition

Related Articles

This month has been rather eventful in terms of the potential impacts to the intelligent transportation systems, traffic management, traffic safety,…
November 24, 2020
The U.S. DOT this week released the agency's first-of-its-kind Pedestrian Safety Action Plan.  This effort is being overseen by Federal Highway…
November 24, 2020
A majority of American voters across the political spectrum support emergency funding for public transportation so that front line workers can get to…
November 23, 2020
This is a photo of Dorr Street and Springfield Crossing while it was being constructed half at a time in order to maintain traffic to local residences and businesses. Photo by Daniel Kammer.
This is a photo of Dorr Street and Springfield Crossing while it was being constructed half at a time in order to maintain traffic to local residences and businesses. Photo by Daniel Kammer.
The Ohio DOT (ODOT) is officially responsible for state, interstate, and U.S. routes throughout the Buckeye State.  But the agency has long stood…
November 23, 2020