FHWA announces winners of 2006 Excellence in Highway Design Awards

News FHWA November 02, 2006
Printer-friendly version

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) announced the winners of the 2006 Excellence in Highway Design Awards at the AASHTO Board of Directors Meeting held in Portland, Ore., on Oct. 30. The Excellence in Highway Design Awards brochure can be accessed electronically at www.fhwa.dot.gov/eihd/index.htm, where the winners within each of the 11 design award categories are featured.

One of the critical challenges facing our industry is providing context-sensitive highway solutions that improve safety, mobility and meet the needs of transportation; while at the same time considering their surrounding environment and desires of local communities. The 2006 award winners showcase outstanding design projects or initiatives providing exemplary examples of innovative initiatives and practices that have embraced this challenge with resounding success.

Award winners will be individually recognized at a later date to be announced by the state departments of transportation and the local FHWA Division Office. Additional information on the FHWA Excellence in Highway Design Awards Program is available electronically at www.fhwa.dot.gov/eihd/index.htm.

Overlay Init