APTA announces new executive committee and board of directors

Oct. 14, 2019

The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) recently elected its 2019-2020 Executive Committee on Oct. 12 during its TRANSform Conference in New York.

The new APTA Chair is Nuria I. Fernandez, who is general manager and chief executive officer of the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority, San Jose, California.

“It is an honor to take the reins of the association that represents the industry that has been part of my life throughout my 39-year career,” Fernandez said in a statement. “This is an exciting and transformational time for public transportation as we continue to make sure tens of millions of Americans get to school, work, or wherever they need to go, while also connecting communities and boosting our nation’s economy.”

Jeffrey A. Nelson, general manager of the Rock Island County Metropolitan Mass Transit District (MetroLINK), Moline, Illinois, will serve as vice chair. Freddie C. Fuller II, vice president, electronic payment systems, for Jacobs, will remain secretary-treasurer. David M. Stackrow Sr., board treasurer of the Capital District Transportation Authority in Albany, New York, will serve as immediate past chair. 

In addition, the following individuals will serve three-year terms on the APTA Executive Committee:

  • Thomas Waldron, senior vice president, HDR
  • Michele Wong Krause, secretary, Dallas Area Rapid Transit
  • Henry Li, general manager and CEO, Sacramento Regional Transit District
  • Richard J. Leary, CEO, Toronto Transit Commission, Canadian representative
  • Raymond J. Melleady, executive vice president, USSC Group

Those serving new three-year terms on the APTA Board of Directors are:

  • Dorval R. Carter Jr., president, Chicago Transit Authority
  • Kimberly Dunham, executive director, Greater New Haven (CT) Transit District
  • Inez Evans, president and CEO, IndyGo, (IN)
  • Arezou Jolly, vice chair, Jacksonville (FL) Transit Authority Board of Directors
  • Bacarra Sanderson Mauldin, executive director, Birmingham (AL) Regional Paratransit Consortium dba ClasTran
  • Natalie Cornell, director of business development, LTK Engineering Services
  • Jack Martinson, vice president/customer director, Alstom
  • Jose Bustamante, vice president, T&I national business development



Sponsored Recommendations

The Science Behind Sustainable Concrete Sealing Solutions

Extend the lifespan and durability of any concrete. PoreShield is a USDA BioPreferred product and is approved for residential, commercial, and industrial use. It works great above...

Proven Concrete Protection That’s Safe & Sustainable

Real-life DOT field tests and university researchers have found that PoreShieldTM lasts for 10+ years and extends the life of concrete.

Revolutionizing Concrete Protection - A Sustainable Solution for Lasting Durability

The concrete at the Indiana State Fairgrounds & Event Center is subject to several potential sources of damage including livestock biowaste, food/beverage waste, and freeze/thaw...

The Future of Concrete Preservation

PoreShield is a cost-effective, nontoxic alternative to traditional concrete sealers. It works differently, absorbing deep into the concrete pores to block damage from salt ions...