Mineta names executive director of new commission

News AASHTO Journal May 26, 2006
Printer-friendly version

U.S. Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta recently named Quintin C. Kendall the new executive director of the Surface Transportation Policy and Revenue Study Commission, which met for the first time Wednesday, May 24, the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) announced.

The 12-member federal commission was created in the most recent surface-transportation authorization—the Safe, Accountable, Flexible and Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users—to study the current conditions and future needs of the surface transportation system; short-term sources of Highway Trust Fund revenues; long-term alternatives to fuel taxes including new sources of revenue needed to fund the surface transportation system over at least the next 30 years.

"We met this week with Mr. Kendall and look forward to working with him to assist the commission in achieving its objectives," said AASHTO Executive Director John Horsley. "This could be a great opportunity to refocus Congress on the vital role transportation will play in the future to sustain our economy and quality of life."

Kendall joined the U.S. DOT as Mineta's White House liaison in June 2002, before becoming Deputy Assistant Secretary for Management and Budget in April 2005. Previously, he was an aide to Virginia Gov. James Gilmore, III and House Commerce Committee Chairman Thomas Bliley, Jr. He holds a bachelor's degree in History from the University of Virginia.

"This commission will create the roadmap we need to navigate the financial future of highway and transit networks," Mineta said in a statement. "Quintin has the skills necessary to help the commission accomplish their assignment," he said.

Kendall will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the commission, including the scheduling of meetings and hearings, oversight of administrative support to the commission members and development of the commission's final report.

Members of the commission include: Mary Peters, former administrator of the Federal Highway Administration; Rick Geddes, former senior economist, White House Council on Economic Advisors; Steve Odland, chairman and chief executive officer of Office Depot; Patrick Quinn, co-chairman of USXpress; Paul Weyrich; Frank McArdle, retired executive director of the New York Association of General Contractors; Tom Skancke, Las Vegas businessman; Jack Schenendorf, former House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee chief counsel; Matt Rose, president, chairman and CEO of Burlington Northern Santa Fe; Frank Busalacchi, secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation; Steve Heminger, executive director of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission of San Francisco; and Norman Mineta, U.S. secretary of transportation.

Overlay Init