SAFETY: National Roadway Safety Awards recognizes traffic safety efforts

12 projects named at Washington D.C. ceremony

Transportation Management News AASHTO Journal, FHWA Safety November 11, 2013
Printer-friendly version

The 2013 National Roadway Safety Awards recognized 12 highway projects and five state transportation departments for achievements in road safety through design, operations and planning.


The five state transportation department winners were:

  • Connecticut DOT for turning a rotary into a roundabout, consequently reducing crashes by 50%;
  • Idaho Transportation Department for use of its technology in a Winter Performance Measure System and for its Highway Safety Corridor Analysis Project;
  • Kentucky Transportation Cabinet and Interstate Road Management Inc. for their High Friction Surfacing Treatment Crash Reduction Program, which reduced the number of crashes from 357 to 33;
  • Tennessee DOT for its use of the J-Turn design and its involvement in improved safety at dangerous intersections; and
  • Washington State DOT and Washington State Patrol for their infrared commercial truck brake screening system.


The Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF) and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) presented the awards Nov. 6 in Washington, D.C.

Overlay Init