National Partnership for Highway Quality presents 2003 awards

News NPHQ September 10, 2003
Printer-friendly version

The National Partnership for Highway Quality (NPHQ) presented its 2003 awards to 10 teams of state DOTs, contractors and design

The National Partnership for Highway Quality (NPHQ) presented its 2003 awards to 10 teams of state DOTs, contractors and designers, with New Jersey earning the 2003 National Achievement Award. NPHQ is a partnership of federal and state officials and leaders in the roadway industry who advocate customer-centered practices for roads that are completed quicker, ride better, last longer, reduce congestion and improve safety.

NPHQ Executive Director Bob Templeton, who presided over the award presentations at the NPHQ Highway Quality Conference in Minneapolis, commented, "It was clear that from design to delivery, the winners raised the bar in key quality areas."

The 2003 award winners are:

National Achievement Award

New Jersey DOT, J.H. Reid General Contractor and Parsons-Brinckerhoff-FG Inc. for the U.S. Rte. 9 Bridge over Nacote Creek project.

Special Recognition for a Small Project

Michigan DOT, the Nagel Construction Co. and the URS Corp. for the M-11 and M-37 intersection reconstruction in the cities of Grand Rapids and Kentwood.

Special Recognition for a Structure Project

Texas DOT, the TxDOT/Houston District Bridge Section and William Brothers Construction Co. for the U.S. 59-Southwest Freeway project (Houston Gateway).

Gold Winners

Arizona DOT, Sundt Construction Inc. and the URS Corp. for the U.S. 93-Boulders reconstruction project; and

Maryland State Highway Administration, IA Construction and the Wilson T. Ballard Co. for the Canal Parkway project.

State Winners

Georgia DOT, its Maintenance Office, Construction Manager Mickey McGee, Shepherd Construction Co. Inc. and E.R. Snell Contractor Inc. for the I-285 resurfacing project;

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Construction Manager Bart Bryant, Hinkle Contracting, Central Rock Mineral Co. and H.W. Lochner Inc. for the Paris Pike reconstruction;

North Carolina DOT and the S.T. Wooten Corp. for the White Oak River Bridge replacement;

Ohio DOT, ODOT District 6, the Kokosing Construction Co. and Parsons Brinckerhoff Ohio Inc. for the I-70 reconstruction; and

Oregon DOT, Construction Manager Ron Clay, J.C. Compton Inc. and Senior ODOT Designer Tandra Mortensen for the Oregon 99W Brutscher Street to Main Street project in Newberg.

Overlay Init