Just deserts

Innovations are rewarded at ITS gathering

Blog Entry October 28, 2011
Printer-friendly version

At the 18th World Congress on Intelligent Transport Systems last week, the Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS America) recognized the top innovators in the transportation technology community with its 2011 Best of ITS Awards.


“This is the leading awards program in the country on transportation innovation, and each of the winners is truly propelling transportation innovation forward,” said Scott Belcher, president and CEO of ITS America. “Each project that was recognized is a great example of how technology can be used to cost-effectively create a safer, more effective transportation network.”


The category of Best New Innovative Products, Services, or Applications recognizes innovative projects that provide transportation solutions to users through ITS deployments, including the areas of public safety, security, surface transportation efficiency and the reduction of carbon emissions. First place went to Houston TranStar for “Cost Effective Arterial Network Travel Times”; Carnegie Mellon University’s “Tiramisu Transit” took second place; and the Florida Department of Transportation District 4 “Maintenance Inventory Management System” took third place.


Four winners were announced in the category of Best New Innovative Practices, which acknowledges projects in the areas of rural ITS, sustainability in transportation, marketing and outreach, partnership deployment (business-to-business, government-to-government or public/private), and research and innovation. The Chicago Department of Transportation took first place for “Chicago Traffic Tracker”; the Vermont Agency for Transportation’s “RWIS-VMS Automation” and Florida DOT District 6’s “95 Express Marketing and Outreach Program” tied for second place; and Houston TranStar took third place for its “Real Time Travel Monitoring System for Hurricane Evacuation Routes” project.


“The Hall of Fame awards recognize the life-long champions of technology’s vital role in transportation, and recipients personify achievement in the ultimate standards for a leader in the ITS field,” said Belcher. Hall of Fame inductees included William Millar of the American Public Transportation Association, Thomas Deen with the Transportation Research Board and William Harris of Texas A&M University.


ITS America held its Annual Meeting in conjunction with the World Congress on ITS.



Source: ITS America

Overlay Init