ARTBA accepting nominations for environment and work-zone awards

News ARTBA July 12, 2006
Printer-friendly version

The American Road and Transportation Builders Association Transportation Development Foundation (ARTBA-TDF) is now accepting nominations for the 2006 Globe and Roadway Work-Zone Safety Awareness awards.

The annual Globe Awards competition honors U.S. transportation construction industry excellence in environmental protection and mitigation. Established in 1998, the program recognizes:

• Private-sector firms and public-sector transportation agencies that do an outstanding job in protecting and enhancing the natural environment in the planning, design and construction of U.S. transportation infrastructure projects; and

• Transportation construction-related product manufacturers and material suppliers that utilize exemplary environmental processes to protect and enhance the natural environment.

The deadline for submitting Globe Award nominations has been extended to July 21.

The ARTBA-TDF Roadway Work-Zone Safety Awareness Awards recognize specific programs, education campaigns or innovations in technology that demonstrate excellence in promoting safety in roadway construction zones. The competition is divided into four categories:

• Government outreach;

• Private outreach campaigns;

• Worker training; and

• Innovations in technology.

Nominations for the safety awards are due August 1.

To inquire about these award programs or to obtain a copy of the application forms, contact ARTBA's Scholarship and Awards Program Manager Rhonda Britton at 202/289-4434 or [email protected]. Both applications are also available online at

The awards will be presented during the 2006 ARTBA Annual Convention, held Sept. 26-29 in San Diego.

Overlay Init