AASHTO names 12 projects as finalists in 2021 America's Transportation Awards

Finalists now compete for the Grand Prize and the People’s Choice Award

September 24, 2021 / 2 minute read
AASHTO names 12 projects as finalists in 2021 America's Transportation Awards

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) today announced the Top 12 finalists in the 2021 America’s Transportation Awards competition.

The Top 12 finalists—chosen from 80 nominees from 35 state DOTs via four U.S. regional contests—now compete for the Grand Prize and the People’s Choice Award. Both prizes come with a $10,000 cash award, for a charity or transportation-related scholarship of the winners’ choosing, according to AASHTO.

“While the last 18 months have brought so much uncertainty, one thing that has remained the same is the commitment from state DOTs to deliver a safe and efficient multimodal transportation system for our communities,” AASHTO Executive Director Jim Tymon said in a statement. “This competition recognizes just a few examples that highlight the ways in which state DOTs are improving quality of life and economic vitality of our communities, saving time and money through new innovations and technologies, and making better use of assets already in place.”

Sponsored by AASHTO, AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the competition evaluates projects in three categories: Quality of Life/Community Development; Best Use of Technology & Innovation; and Operations Excellence. The projects are also divided into three sizes: small (projects costing up to $25 million); medium (projects that cost between $26 million to $200 million); and large (projects costing more than $200 million).

AASHTO will announce the Grand Prize winner and the People’s Choice Award winner during its annual meeting in San Diego, Oct. 26-29.

The Top 12 projects are:

  • Arizona DOT—Fourth Street Bridge over Interstate 40 (Quality of Life/Community Development, Medium Project group)
  • Delaware DOT—Margaret Rose Henry Bridge and Approach Roads (Operations Excellence, Medium Project group)
  • Florida DOT—Leveraging Innovation: How FDOT Transformed the Gateway to Florida Keys (Best Use of Technology & Innovation, Small Project group)
  • Indiana DOT— Grand Valley Boulevard Bridge (Quality of Life/Community Development, Small Project group)
  • Kansas DOT—Turner Diagonal: Partnering for Growth (Operations Excellence, Medium Project group)
  • Kentucky Transportation Cabinet—Brent Spence Bridge Emergency Repair Project (Operations Excellence, Small Project group)
  • New Jersey DOT—Route 1 Permanent Hard Shoulder Running Project (Operations Excellence, Small Project group)
  • North Carolina DOT—Reconstruction of Salem Parkway (U.S. 421/I-40 Business) (Quality of Life/Community Development, Medium Project group)
  • Oregon DOT—I-84 Snow Zone Safety Improvement Project (Operations Excellence, Small Project group)
  • Pennsylvania DOT—Ohiopyle Multimodal Gateway (Quality of Life/Community Development, Small Project group)
  • South Carolina DOT—S.C. 61 Phase 1 (Rural Road Safety Program) (Operations Excellence, Small Project group)
  • Utah DOT—I-15; Lehi Main to S.R. 92, Technology Corridor (Quality of Life/Community Development, Large Project group)



Related Articles

New research from the American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) suggests adjustments to state gas taxes do not automatically…
March 30, 2022
ATSSA convention
The annual ATSSA Convention & Traffic Expo offers the chance to network, share ideas and take advantage of educational opportunities.
When Juan Arvizu joined the American Traffic Safety Services Association (ATSSA) in 1998, he knew the organization primarily as the top provider of…
March 25, 2022
State transportation departments moved forward on more than 16,000 highway and bridge improvement projects in FY 2021, according to a new analysis of…
March 25, 2022
ATSSA announces Innovation Award winners at 2022 Traffic Expo
Representatives from the products chosen for Innovation Awards are, from left, Jean Paul “JP” Talledo Vilela of the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute (VTTI), Trevor Romkey of Site 20/20, and Todd Foster of Ver-Mac. Image: ATSSA
Three exhibitors at American Traffic Safety Services Association's (ATSSA) 52nd Annual Convention & Traffic Expo received Innovation Awards today…
February 15, 2022